my journey
 
This past week, Steven wrote about his personality using the Myers Briggs Test. He is an ISFJ. When I took the test, (available here), I was described as an ISTJ--an introverted, sensing, thinking, judger. I am slightly more introverted than extroverted, a difference that has decreased since middle school when I first took the test. I attribute this change to my work in leadership positions--in the PLA, on Hillel board and as a Hebrew school teacher. The sensing is opposed to intuition--I don't go with my gut too often, rather I feel out the situation and make decisions only after observing my surroundings. The thinking is the only difference between Steven and myself. Steven spent this portion of his blog describing his emotional reaction when going into class. When I talk about my emotions, I tend to rationalize and think about why I feel the way I feel without actually describing my emotions. I scored 100% as a judger over a perceiver. I prefer the orderly and controlled settings using logic and reason to make my decisions rather than jumping in to a new situation ready for anything. It will be interesting to see how these letters change, if at all, as I continue to grow and mature. 
Felix spent his previous blog discussing the Democratic National Convention. I have to be honest: politics is not my favorite topic of conversation. I am not one who likes to engage in debates and the topic politics always seem to be a good way to get into an argument. I followed the Republican nomination process, and watched Obama's speech at the DNC, but don't really enjoy following every detail. Felix in his blog post however, made some good reflections about Obama's speech. I enjoyed the comments Felix made that focused on the purpose of Obama's speech: "The epic centerpiece however, was not the issues of the time but a vision of democracy and citizenship that reminded everyone of what elections are really all about." The election process, especially in our day and age with the role technology plays, has become very negative--always complaining about what the other candidate does not believe or how his plan is wrong. The purpose of an election, and democracy is to vote for someone--not against his opponent. We shouldn't be voting for the lesser of two evils, rather the person who stands for the people and focuses on making the lives of the constituency better. This election will be one to remember, and I'm excited to see how it unfolds. 



Leave a Reply.