my journey
 
This past week Anthony commented on his debut performance with No Strings Attached and Duly Noted, an a cappella group and male ensemble that sang in Simmons Lounge last week. He described the challenge of finding the right note without hearing an instrument like a piano, but says his musical background of piano and violin have given him some of the skills needed. More interestingly, he commented on how this was something new, something outside of his comfort zone. By trying a new hobby he was able to not only learn a new skill, but to learn something about himself. New experiences are the way we learn. I would argue that failing at a new experience would be much more valuable than succeeded, showing you the work it takes to become proficient at a new task as well as the determination one has to accomplish a goal. It sounds like a wonderful group. Good job, Anthony!

Courtney this week commented on the use of technology in our lives especially from an educational standpoint. I'm not quite sure where I stand on the use of e-readers and whether they help or hinder the current generation. I grew up reading physical books and tend to enjoy the tactile nature of reading a book and turning the pages--it engages me with the reading. My sister on the other hand has a Kindle and loves it. She is able to look up words in the dictionary as she is reading, a feature she misses when reading a paperback. I haven't seen my sister this excited about reading before she had her Kindle and am inclined to attribute the change to the technology. I think that as long as students are reading and learning that skill the device on which they do it doesn't really matter. It becomes an issue I think when reading disappears. 



Leave a Reply.