my journey
 
I know I'm a few hours late with this blog entry, but I have a good excuse. I came home to surprise my family and visit with my dad this weekend. My dad had surgery on Monday and has been recovering in the hospital all week. I've been calling my mom between every class every day to find out how's she doing, and if there have been any updates about my dad. I could hear how stressed and worried she's been all week. And I thought a surprise visit home would be the best medicine. I coordinated with my sister who was able to get out of the house Thursday night and pick me up from the bus stop. When we got home and we showed mom what she had "found on the way home," it took a few minutes for my mom to comprehend that she was seeing me. It was a good surprise. 

Today I spent the day at Fox Chase Cancer Center visiting with my dad who is post-op day 4. He's doing really well. In the surgery, they took out the tumor in his pancreas and it didn't look like the cancer had spread beyond the one organ, which is a really good sign. Today he was able to take a shower, go on three walks around the halls of the hospital, get his breathing up to the 3500 level (you know the little blue disk you have to blow up to a certain level), and soundly crush me at scrabble. There were a few visitors from school and my mom was there for most of the day with us. The nursing staff and doctors we met were really nice and helpful. Here's to a night full of sleep and relaxation. Back to Happy Valley in the afternoon. Sorry for the delay again :) 



Leave a Reply.