my journey
 
Honor is a word that has many definitions--privilege like it is my honor to do this, respect--we will honor him by doing that, distinction--you can earn many honors or attend an honors college. These are only three definitions, yet they all fit into how I feel right now: It is my honor (privilege) to honor (respect) the women that fought for suffrage by voting to honor (respect) President Barack Obama with the honor (distinction/privilege) of being reelected as president for another four years.  This was my first presidential election; I missed the last one by two months.

In high school, I remember Obama's last election as something that every student was passionate about--either for Obama or against him. When he was inaugurated, there was a huge crowd of students sitting in the hallway watching on television as the man some of us had helped to elect was making history by being the first African American president. Classmates of mine had joined the campaign and were "the Democrateens." They had found their place working for the Change Campaign, canvassing, flyering, and working for Obama. 

Politics have never been something I like to talk about. First, I don't feel like I know enough to be confortable having an intelligent conversation with someone about it. Secondly, so many people are so set in their ways that a conversation is pointless. Many just argue what they want to argue without hearing what the other is saying, similar to some presidential debates I've watched. Four years ago, it was hard to not talk about politics, because for the first time, it was relevant in our lives. I didn't get the same vibe this year--the youth vote didn't seem to be as prominent or as active this year. However, the issues that were being debated were very important to many people: education, health care, women's right, gay rights, the economy, jobs, stance on Iran and Israel, etc.

What I noticed this year was that people had different priorities. For some, jobs and lower taxes are what they want. Some want a stronger stance against Iran. Some prefer Obamacare and funding for education. It depends on what's relevant in your life.

I had a friend who asked why people didn't like Romney. I was baffled. You are supposed to know why you are voting for someone, and I'm glad she had an answer for that question. But it seems just as important to me to know why others are not voting for your candidate. To be an active citizen, I think you need to know the pros and cons of both candidates. It was shocking that this intelligent girl did not know why people didn't like Romney. But that wasn't relevant for her; she didn't need to know why others didn't like him, just why she did.

I am honored to have participated in this election. I am honored that this country decided to oust Akin who said "legitimate rape" and that the first openly gay senator, Tammy Baldwin, was elected. I am honored. 




Leave a Reply.