my journey
 
This past week, I had the opportunity to go to New York and look at graduate schools. I am interested in pursuing a masters degree in Jewish education. My eventual hope is to become a religious school director in a synagogue setting, responsible for hiring and training teachers, evaluating and modifying the school curriculum, creating end executing family education programs, working with synagogue professionals and congregants on behalf of the religious school. 

The school I looked at was Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion. The three year masters in Jewish Education program has students spend the fist year in Israel and the next two years at the New York campus. Students learn Hebrew, Jewish history, pedagogy, Jewish philosophies, and are given the opportunity to work in the community with a mentorship program.  Not only do they learn in the classroom, but they are applying what they learn in a real-life situation. 

The open house I went to was a wonderful experience. The directors of the rabbinical, cantorial and education programs came to meet with prospective students. Being the only person interested in education, I got a chance to have a one on one conversation with the director of the New York School of Education. It was a really nice chat. I got the message that this school is really about practicing what they preach. The teachers are all involved in program where they are moving the field of Jewish education forward, trying new techniques and programs and really leading the field to new places. After our conversation, the whole school, students and faculty, came together for Thursday morning services. Students led t'fillah (prayers). And a fourth year rabbinical student gave a really lovely sermon about the inclination in us all to do good and evil. After services, the whole school came together for a bagel lunch and a discussion--students and teachers asked the rabbinical student who presented the sermon questions about his sermon, commented on what they enjoyed, and critiqued what they felt was missing. It was a really interesting conversation, and I would have been intimidated if I were the rabbinical student in the hot seat. After lunch, I had the opportunity to attend a survey of Jewish history course (part 1). They had a lively conversation about sects in Judaism and the Karatites. Following class, the prospective students attended a student panel where they got to ask current students  the questions they'd been waiting to ask. 

It was a really wonderful day and I'm so glad I had the opportunity to attend the open house. Now I just have to work on getting in!! More updates to come as I work through the application process :) 



Leave a Reply.