my journey
 
This winter break, in between episodes of TV and sleeping til 12, I applied to grad school. In the end I sent in four applications for Masters programs in the field of Jewish education. Three of the four schools are in New York, with the last one in Los Angeles. They range in length from two to three years, some with time in Israel, others with summer class requirements. My top choice is a three year program, the first year in Israel, the last two in New York. I went to visit this school for an open house in October and absolutely loved the place--the people, the classes, the program, the location--all of it is awesome. I'm not sure which of the remaining three ranks second, mostly because this school outranks them all by a lot. I guess it comes down to funding--which schools can I actually afford to go to. And that's my next project--applying for funding and fellowships. With my sister at Bucknell, I am on my own financially, my parents can't afford to support both of us, as much as my mother refuses to admit it. So mixed with reading assignments and thesis chapters, my life will be filled with essays and short answers about why I want to be a Jewish educator. Wish me luck!



Leave a Reply.