my journey
 
As this year is coming to a close, I have learned a few things about myself that I want to share. 

1. I cannot be idle. Not in the always moving-ADHD-sense. But the I can't seem to take a minute to just relax or do something for myself--everything must have a purpose and I must be doing something productive at all times. This makes for a very tiring lifestyle. I go to bed late and wake up early, not because I'm doing work until the wee hours of the morning, but because I have it in my head that I must watch the current week's television before the week is up. When I could be relaxing and getting a full eight hours of sleep, I'm up till 2 in the morning watching TV, just to get up at 8am and start the new day. 

2. I am very excited about my major and future plans. Judaism is such a huge part of my life and I am taking the steps to make it my life--my career. I love learning about Judaism, teaching in the Hebrew school and I am very much excited about writing my thesis next year. Most people would be scared about writing an honors thesis or dreading the amount of work that must go in to making it successful, but I am so excited. I hope my excitement continues at the work begins, but I know it will make starting the process that much easier. 

3. I am strong. Believe me, this is in no way referring to my muscular strength--I have absolutely zero upper body abilities. This is an emotional strong. I carry a lot of burdens, many of which I put on myself or don't trust with other people. I am convinced that only I am capable of holding these burdens and that I will be weak if I let any of them fall. Not only does this contribute to the amount of stress and worry that I deal with, but it makes me difficult to relate to. People have difficulty connecting with someone who keeps all of their emotional baggage to themselves. And while it may be admirable to some to hold it all together, without taking the time to let some of the burdens go, life gets very heavy very fast. 

I hope to take this summer and this upcoming year to work on these things--to take more time for myself, to let some of my burdens go and to fully enjoy my Jewish career. Have a wonderful summer. See you in August!




Leave a Reply.