my journey
 
When I got the email a few weeks ago, letting me know about the upcoming events PLA was sponsoring, I immediately jumped on the opportunity to hear author Khaled Hosseini speak as part of the Distinguished Speaker Series. I had read both of his books and seen the movie The Kite Runner. What I loved so much about these works is that they were about another culture that I really had no connection to, and yet I could relate to the characters. In The Kite Runner, Amir is a young boy who deals with the issue of how to treat his friend whose family works for his. The issues of class and friendship, honesty and proudness are present throughout the book. I can definitely relate to trying to live up to a standard that I set for myself, that my parents set for me, that my friends even set for me. However, Hosseini's second novel A Thousand Splendid Suns, was more relatable for me. I went to a private all girls school for 14 years, where the idea of becoming strong independent women was drilled into our heads from day one. Reading a book from the perspective of two women who didn't have the right to be independent or the opportunity to stand up for themselves was fascinating and very interesting to read. 
Having loved the books so much, I was very eager to go to the lecture. So eager in fact that I was one of the first students to reply to the email asking who wanted tickets, that I was qualified to go to the dinner with Mr. Hosseini before the lecture. I responded to the email without thinking, saying I had to work before the lecture. But then it hit me. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity to sit in a small group and personally talk to Khaled Hosseini. I replied to the email again saying, "I don't know what I was thinking, but sign me up for the dinner" and ended up finding someone to work for me. But what are you supposed to talk about with a best selling author? 

The conversation when I walked into the room was centered around football, and the extent of my football knowledge is knowing how many points a touchdown is worth. My friends (other PLA students) and I walked in and sat down and got settled. We did the standard introduction of name, hometown, major and then the conversation went back to sports, until Dean Brady walked in. He held the conversation, asking questions, telling stories. There were a few times I wanted to jump in and contribute an anecdote that related to the topic, but by the time I figured out what I wanted to say, the point had long past. I was thoroughly enjoying listening to the highly intellectual conversation around me. Mr. Hosseini talked about going to medical school before writing, howThe Kite Runner was never supposed to be published, and the current and potential political situation in Afghanistan. It was great, until Dean Brady called me out saying, "Sarah, you're usually never shy, want to jump in with a questions?" And I turned bright red. I had no idea what to say. I had read the books a while ago and was not up-to-date on the current situation in Afghanistan. I certainly did not want to say something wrong! So, I ended up talking about what the books meant to me. How it was eye-opening to read about women who didn't have the same privileges I had, and how much these books intrigued me and my friends. 

As soon as dinner was over, and Dean Brady left, the conversation relaxed a little and we asked Mr. Hosseini if he would sign books and take pictures. As most of the group departed, my friends and I took our time gathering our stuff, talking about how cool it was to have just had dinner with Khaled Hosseini. What other 19 year-old gets to say they just dined with a best-selling author? The opportunities that PLA provides us with are truly incredible!



Leave a Reply.