my journey
 
Recalculating. This was the take away message I got from President Spanier's interview with 4-time National Championship Women's Volleyball Coach Russ Rose. One of the earliest anecdotes Coach told was about a recent recruiting trip. The GPS kept telling him to turn around, turn around, "when possible make a legal u-turn" in that oh-so-annoying automated voice. After an hour, the GPS finally recalculated and Mr. Rose saved an hour on his journey--all because he knew what he was doing was the right move. I am one who gets lost very easily (I once walked over a body of water and had no idea), so I am very inclined to follow whatever the GPS tells me, even if it takes me out of my way. But on issues where I know what I want to accomplish is right, or that what I am currently doing is not perfect, I am very much inclined to find a way to accomplish my goal.     

This has to be our approach to the fan behavior problem. Our first solution may not be the best, but we need to find a way to ensure that this goal of improved fan behavior is met. We need to get creative with our approach to students, because from my research most students do not seem to think there is a problem with fan behavior on campus. Before we can fix the problem, we need to show them that there is a problem. Alumni like their traditions, but our sports culture at Penn State has changed. The amount of alcohol surrounding the game has increased exponentially and we need to address this issue in a way that respects the traditions but also adapts to the changing times. 
     
Mr. Rose was very fun to listen to and he had some interesting points about leadership: have no fears, do what is right even if not everyone agrees with you and have fun in what you do. 



Leave a Reply.