my journey
 
So here I am, two weeks later. Since then, I have had several conversations with different adults working in different fields. I spoke to a rabbi, a BMB professor, and Dean Brady, in addition to extensive conversations with my parents and friends. I was not looking for them to tell me what to do, rather I was gathering information about the various options available to me so that I could make an informed decision about what I wanted to do. 
The conversation with the rabbi showed me that I need to find something that I have an emotional connection to--and not a hateful emotional connection. Dreading going to classes, just getting through the class without learning and not knowing when or how to apply freshly acquired knowledge is probably not the best major. Lesson: take the classes that pull at your heartstrings, that make you think and that you enjoy going to. 

In talking with Dean Brady, I learned that this decision does not have to be final right now. If I am accepted to Schreyer for BMB or Jewish studies, (1) I can switch my topic, with departmental approval and (2) my thesis research does not have to be in the field of my major. 

So I was set to stick with Jewish Studies as my primary major, drop the BMB major down to a minor and apply to Schreyer for Jewish Studies. 

Then I got an email from the BMB Department saying I qualify for nomination by the BMB department to Schreyer--meaning staying with the BMB major and doing my Honors Thesis in BMB research. I met with a BMB professor to talk about what BMB honors research would be like and whether it would be worth it to stay in a major that was causing me so much stress. I left the meeting really excited--looking forward to finding research opportunities and with the promise that the classes weren't as bad as I thought they would be. 

And then I tried to put a schedule for next semester together with BMB major courses and I was a mess again. Completely stressed out that the classes I needed conflicted with other commitments, prerequisite requirements I had yet to complete, and the worry of being three semesters behind. 

After a lengthy and emotional conversation with my parents, I went to sleep ready to start looking at this all over again the following day. When I woke up, I explored the BMB and Schreyer websites. I realized that I really didn't want to take all of the required classes for a BMB major. The stress I'm facing was not worth the BMB degree. However, if I do Honors thesis research in the BMB field, grad school in BMB may not be out of the question if I find that I really enjoy doing the research. My tentative schedule for next semester is filled with 3 Jewish studies courses, 2 general education classes and 1 BMB class to fulfill a BMB minor. Although it is not yet final, I feel a lot happier about this decision. :)




Leave a Reply.